It is on the sea-shore at the Bay of Bengal. An ancient Roman Catholic Church is here where the Cross is said to have been brought from Jerusalem, This Church is also associated with St. Xavier, the famous missionary from West. Since there are other small Churches here in this place, it is called as "Chinna Jerusalem" (Small Jerusalem).
A small church for St. Mary which was under the control of pastors of Goa mission existed here. In course of time, in 1903, this church was converted into a school. On important occasions as per the wishes of the people, festivals were conducted and prayers were offered to her. There was a custom among the young maidens to go to the nunnery in the night and sleep there. On one such occasion they saw a bright light surrounding this Selvamatha statue even though nobody lit a candle. Many people of Uvari witnessed this light which was there for over an hour.
About 15 kilometers (9.3 miles) from Kanyakumari in Kottar, the stark white spires of St. Xavier Church stand sentinel over this little coastal town. It was built around 1600 by St. Francis Xavier during one of his trips to Kanyakumari district from Goa. During his stay in Kottar, Saint Xavier used to worship Mother Mary in a small temple. He even averted the invasion of the Padagas on the people of Venad which was appreciated greatly by the ruling king. And as a token of appreciation, the king allotted him a piece of land in Kottar to get a Catholic church constructed. The site already had a church in 1544 where the St. Xavier Church now stands.
From Tirunelveli just 2Km. The allocated place is named as Murugankurichi. The Holy Trinity Cathedral a small, elegant and beautiful Church was built in 1826 by Rev Rhenius and opened to public for worship on 26 June 1826. It took only 175 days for its construction which cost about Rs.2000/- This small church with an oblong edifice measuring 64 ft. by 30 ft still serves as a nucleus for this massive Cathedral which developed in later years.
Tuticorin is famous for Our Lady of Snows Shrine Basilica festival which takes place during August every year. To show their love and gratitude, devotees presented a golden car which is used to carry the miraculous statue of Our Lady of Snows around the town during her feast day. The Golden Car first appeared in procession on 2nd February 1806 and since then on 5th August of every year. A big star rests over the royal crown on the top of the car, signifying the name of Our Lady as the Star of the Sea (Stella Maris). The statue is one of three works of religious art originally brought by explorer Ferdinand Magellan to the Philippines, the others being the Santo Niño de Cebu and the Manapad altar crucifix.
ABS Travels in Tirunelveli was started in the year of 2007. Mr. Arun is the sole proprietor of ABS Travels, who has a wide range of experience in Tours and Travels in Tirunelveli. ABS Travels is a reputed car/cab rental service provider in and around Tirunelveli.